My Dogs Got Into It

Susan Robertson
6 min readMay 21, 2020

It was awful.

I screamed and it didn’t matter. It felt like minutes went by while I tried to intervene between Rolo and Lelos. Brownie kept trying to put herself between them but they are both faster than she is. I took my oversized cardigan off and thew it towards Rolo, trying to capture him. I missed.

Lelos tried to lie down, submit and screaming, begged for mercy. Rolo wasn’t having it. Lelos tried to defend himself putting his toothless face up towards Rolo’s to deflect the attack. Didn’t slow them down at all.

I threw the cardigan again and it missed. But this time it distracted Rolo. He made a couple more rushes but now was paying attention to me when I stepped between them. He let up.

Lelos stood on three legs screaming in pain, blood dotting his body in so many places. He hobbled up the stairs and made for his favourite spot on the couch. I shut Rolo outside and rushed in after Lelos.

We were lucky. There were a lot of superficial wounds but nothing deep and nothing bleeding freely. He has a tooth mark on either side of his neck but not near anything vital. He has abrasions on the top of his head. He has a series of scratches and abrasions and a couple of tooth marks on the back of his shoulders. He has punctures on both flanks. He is limping on a back leg.

We spent the evening at the emergency vet. I couldn’t go in with him because of plague times and all, so I sat in my car and listened the radio until … ugh. My car battery died due to me…

--

--

Susan Robertson

Susan is an economist who worked in international development. Interested in food, board games, dogs, and development. Writing about whatever I feel like.